WEBINAR 2: Bridges – April 5th 2024

Eurocode 8

Second Generation webinar series

The European Association of Earthquake Engineering (EAEE), through its Working Group12 (WG12), welcomes you to the website dedicated to the Second Generation of EC8 webinars.

Webinars Programme

Recorded Webinars


The present website is dedicated to the open webinars on Eurocode 8 (EC8) of second generation. It is indeed paramount that both the scientific and professional communities become rapidly familiar with the main innovative technical aspects introduced by such a second generation code on earthquake engineering. For more information on the Second Generation of EC8 Webinars, see the concept note.


The EN Eurocodes are a series of 10 European Standards, EN 1990 – EN 1999, providing a common approach for the design of buildings and other civil engineering works and construction products. They are the recommended reference for technical specifications in public contracts. They are expected to contribute to the establishment and functioning of the internal market for construction products and engineering services by eliminating the disparities that hinder their free circulation within the Community. Further, they are meant to lead to more uniform levels of safety in construction in Europe.

The EN Eurocodes apply to structural design of buildings and other civil engineering works including:

  • geotechnical aspects;
  • structural fire design;
  • situations including earthquakes, execution and temporary structures.

The EN Eurocodes cover:

  • basis of structural design (EN 1990);
  • actions on structures (EN 1991);
  • the design of concrete (EN 1992), steel (EN 1993), composite steel and concrete (EN1994), timber (EN 1995), masonry (EN 1996) and aluminium (EN 1999) structures; together with
  • geotechnical design (EN 1997); and
  • design, assessment and retrofitting of structures for earthquake resistance (EN 1998) – EUROCODE 8.

Read more about the Eurocodes here: https://eurocodes.jrc.ec.europa.eu


EN 1998 Eurocode 8 (EC8) applies to the design and construction of buildings and other civil engineering works in seismic regions. Its purpose is to ensure that in the event of earthquakes:

  • human lives are protected;
  • damage is limited;
  • structures important for civil protection remain operational.

Structure of Eurocode 8 – 1st and 2nd generation:

EC8 1st GenerationEC8 2nd Generation
1 General rules & buildings1-1 General rules & seismic action
1-2 Buildings
2 Bridges2 Bridges
3 Existing buildings3 Existing buildings & bridges
4 Silos, tanks & pipelines4 Silos, tanks, pipelines, towers, masts & chimneys
5 Foundations & retaining structures5 Geotechnical aspects, foundations, retaining structures & underground structures
6 Towers, masts & chimneys